Citrus Labels, Interesting, eh?

Had a more enjoyable weekend than I was expecting. Since I have “made” it to the full dosage of the Lyrica (for neuropathy from endometriosis scaring) I have been a little, lets say – Off. And that is putting it nicely. Friday was a very difficult day to get through with being “off” and exhausted from lack of sleep. I immediately napped after my work day was done.

Saturday starting off with the norm and thought I was in for a day at home. Once my hubby got up I decided I was feeling up enough to venture out for coffee and bagels. During our fine dining we decided to go check out a local museum down town that we like to visit (and is FREE). They usually have a “visiting” exhibit and even if you have seen it – there is always a little something you come across that is “new to you”.

My new to me find was the old Florida citrus labels. I had walked through this room a handful of times – but on this day there was just something captivating about all the different labels on the front of museum backlit boxes. Today – they were bright and colorful and told me lots about the state of Florida’s citrus production history.

  • Did you know they had a box press that would squeeze shut the over packed orange boxes? Apparently different groves would try to “out do” the other by overstuffing boxes. I got the see the nifty press they used – but never found an explanation why they did this.
  • Did you know that German POWs were kept in Central Florida during World War II? Yep, they were – and they were also used to pick fruit in the citrus fields.
  • Did you know that key lime trees are more of a bush and not a tree like other limes? You can also grew them easily on your patio and in the Florida Keys you can not “throw a stone with out hitting one”.

I learned this and a whole lot more. It was a load of fun to go through the museum with my husband and discover all the beautiful citrus labels and the Florida History with them. But my most important discovery on Saturday was not the labels – but how much this simple time spent with my husband means to me.

2010 is mainly a blur to me. Two surgeries and a startling, terrifying diagnosis and a whole bunch of pain and hospital bills. Endometriosis has taken a lot from me and my husband. It was nice to take a day back and look past the pain and enjoy just being and enjoy being with the man I love.

I suggest you go find your own citrus labels, find something wonderful that is “new to you”.

20110724-100203.jpg

2 responses to “Citrus Labels, Interesting, eh?

  1. We love going to this same museum. It’s a great place to explore and learn together.

Leave a Reply

