Becoming Darwin’s Dead End

So, it became painfully (pun intended) apparent that the surgery did not fix the issue about 10 days after it was performed.  Several weeks later I had an appointmentwithmy doctor to get the down and dirty on the situation.   Using pretty graphic pictures from surgery as a reference, the doctor explained that my uterus and ovaries were literally bondwithscar tissue to a portion of my large intestines – and in turn strangling it.  He went into detail how he tried to free my girlie bits and remove scar tissue but he admitted that he needed another to surgeon help him, though none were available at that time.  He then decided to take out the two large legions he could see and save the rest for later since he knew I would need another surgery.  He asked if my husband and I had children (no, and I was 39 at the time) and then he had to discuss what the options were… unfortunately, there were only two;

  1. Have a minimum of three surgeries (one to remove part of my large intestines) + several rounds of a strong hormonal drug called Lupron to try to save my girlie bits to see if the girlie bits would still be viable
  2. Have a complete hysterectomy and oophorectomy, removing all the scarring, legions and cysts he could see along the way

Let me just say that my particular pain can be described as having a kidney stone stuck in my bladder.  I know this because it has happened.  So yes – it hurts like a mother ______.  To get rid of this pain I would do just about anything.  It was really a no brainer for me at this point since I had such pain and wasn’t sleeping – take it out, slash and burn – leave no organ unturned – get it out of me!  Below is what a friend said to me to make it easier:

“In my opinion, if you’ve got a great partner in life you’ve got all you need.  I also believe that we coupleswithout children lead an overall happier and more stress free life. (don’t tell anyone I said that.)  There’s a reason God made fertility peak at the ages when people are still naive enough to think they know what’s good for them.”

I scheduled my surgery and begin the wait.  I got more pamphlets and a login for a website to watch a video on what to expect (my hubby and I died at some of the descriptions “Your cervix is the doorway to your uterus”).   I did a bit of searching and found the Hyster Sisters (http://hystersisters.com).  It is a wonderful site that taught me a lot.  They even had lists of what to ask your doctor pre and post operation.   So – I knew EVERYTHING I needed to go get the girlie bits out… this was so going to be a breeze…

Leave a Reply

